Bye Dutchies - Reisverslag uit Atlanta, Verenigde Staten van Willy-Anne Snoek - WaarBenJij.nu Bye Dutchies - Reisverslag uit Atlanta, Verenigde Staten van Willy-Anne Snoek - WaarBenJij.nu

Bye Dutchies

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Willy-Anne

11 Februari 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Atlanta

Dear all!

Finally a blog on my website! Sorry it took so long, but I’ve been quite busy lately… First I would like to tell you about my flight, which was horrific! The day started quite relaxed and I was absolutely not nervous, I was looking forward to this trip for so long! And I didn’t really believe that it was going to happen until I got on the plane. When Kirsten and I arrived in Atlanta, we were very happy because we already made it so far, but we were also very tired because the flight was exhausting. At the airport in Atlanta, border patrol didn’t trust the story we were telling them about our intentions in America and so they wanted to question us. Ten minutes before our flight would leave, they finally let us go and we started running like crazy to catch our plane. Unfortunately we missed it and we had to wait at the airport for three hours. When we arrived at the hostel they told us that we were at the wrong location and they transferred us to the sister-hostel not far from this one. I was so happy when we arrived… I was finally allowed to fall into a deep sleep! Too bad I had to work so early the next day. It was so difficult to get out of bed while I heard Kirsten still snoring. :P

That day I met a few very nice people! One of these people was Maria from Madrid. She helped me a lot with settling in and introduced me to multiple hostel guests. The first week I hung out a lot with Maria, but unfortunately she had to go back to Madrid as her semester would start again. I am very grateful for the time we had together here in San Diego and we will definitely meet again in the Netherlands or Spain. In the time she was still in San Diego she showed me a bit of Hillcrest and took me to the best places to eat and to shop. Helping her with her English was fun! She made me look at the language in a different perspective which I can definitely use when I get back in the Netherlands and at my next teaching practice. She would also help me with my Spanish, haha! Mi español es muy malo!But okay, I’m here to improve my English and not my Spanish. The first week I went to the beach quite often as the weather was extremely hot! Sleeping on the beach had a few benefits. For one, I was getting a tan and secondly, I got to see more of the American culture! I will tell you more about this in my next blog.

Goodnight America/ good morning Netherlands,
WA

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Atlanta

Stay Abroad - San Diego, California

Recente Reisverslagen:

11 Februari 2014

Bye Dutchies

11 Februari 2014

Welcome
Willy-Anne

Actief sinds 11 Feb. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 1094
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2056

Voorgaande reizen:

02 September 2013 - 22 November 2013

Stay Abroad - San Diego, California

Landen bezocht: